Guest speakers in driver education at our Superior driving school

Road Test Rules

The following steps will take you from registration through scheduling your road test.

1. As soon as you receive our information call us, mail or stop in to register for an upcoming class.

2. You must be 15 ½ years old to receive your state instruction permit (temps) from our local Department of Motor Vehicles. An ideal age to begin class would be 15 to 15 + 3 months (or older).

3. You may begin your behind the wheel in car lessons while you are in class or when class is completed as long as you are 15 ½.

4. From the time you receive your temps you must wait 6 months until you are eligible for your road test. We will schedule your behind the wheel lessons after you receive your temps and we suggest you schedule one per month for the six-month period. Save your last lesson until right before your road test and the instructor will give you pre-road test reviews to get you ready!

5. You must schedule your first behind the wheel in car lesson within 60 days of receiving your temps. This is a state law.  The road test can be scheduled at http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/drivers/schedule.htm

6. You may schedule your road test any time within eleven weeks (no sooner) prior to the end of your six-month waiting period. Tests are scheduled electronically by calling the state Department of Motor Vehicle agency.

Wisconsin Driving Rules

WI Probationary License Requirements

  1. Must be 16 years of age.
  2. Complete an approved driver education class.
  3. Accumulate 30 hours of behind-the-wheel driving experience. (10 of the 30 hours must be at night)
  4. A parent or adult sponsor must certify on the MV3001 form (driver license application) the completion of 30 hours of driving experience. (10 at night)
  5. Hold an instructional permit for a minimum of 6 months.
  6. One of these drive times must occur within the first 60 days of holding a valid Wisconsin instructional permit. There must be a minimum of 19 days between the 1st and 6th driving lessons.
  7. Receive no moving traffic violations resulting in a conviction for the six months prior to the date of application for this license. This also includes seat belt and juvenile alcohol violations.
  8. Pass a driving skills test.
  9. Pay the required fees.

WI Probationary License Restrictions

If a student is under 18, for the first nine months of holding the probationary license the student may drive but with the following restrictions:

  1. From 5 AM to midnight, a student may drive alone and travel anywhere. In addition, any number of immediate family members (including legal guardian) and the following people can be passengers:
    • One person who holds a valid regular (non-probationary) license with at least 2 years driving experience and who is a person 21 or older or a qualified instructor or spouse 19 or older, and one other person.
  2. From midnight to 5 AM and if driving between home, school, and/or work, a student may drive alone. In addition, a student can have the same passengers as listed in number one above. If driving anywhere else, students must have one of the following people in the vehicle:
    • a parent or guardian.
    • any number of immediate family members and one other person.
    • one person who holds a valid regular (non-probationary) license with 2 years of licensed driving experience and one person who is a person 21 or older, a spouse 19 or older, or a qualified instructor 19 or older.
  3. Restrictions will be extended 6 months if the student does any of the following:
    • is convicted of a moving traffic violation.
    • violates any of the restrictions.
    • has license revoked or suspended for any reason.

    Note: The terms of the passenger and time-of-day restriction stops while any operating privilege is suspended or revoked. It resumes again when the operating privilege is reinstated.

If you have questions about the Wisconsin Graduated Driver License, check out the Wisconsin DOT website, e-mail the Wisconsin DMV, or call 608-266-2353.